The [seven] sacraments are effacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us.  The visible rites by which the sacraments are celebrated signify and make present the graces proper to each sacrament.  They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions.

-Catechism of the Catholic Church #1131

Sacraments of Initiation

Baptism by which we are born into the new life in Christ.

Holy Eucharist by which Christ associates his Church and all her members with the Sacrifice offered on the Cross.

Confirmation by which we are more perfectly bound to the Church and enriched with a special strength of the Holy Spirit.


Sacraments of Healing

Reconciliation or Penance by which sins committed after Baptism are forgiven.

Anointing of the Sick by which a special grace is conferred during grave illness or old age.


Sacraments of Service

Holy Orders by which the task of serving in the name and in the person of Christ is conferred.

Matrimony by which a man and a woman form with each other an intimate communion of life and love.